Board of Education

The Sharon Springs Board of Education consists of five members, each elected for a term of five years, with at least one member elected each year at the annual meeting of the school district. Members are elected by the voters in the district to establish policy and govern the schools. The Superintendent of Schools advises the Board of Education on all school-related matters, board policies, and decisions that impact the district’s day-to-day operations. This is done with the goal of ensuring that all Sharon Springs students are provided with the highest quality educational experience possible.

Board Members

Helen Roberts, Vice President
Term: July 1, 2019-June 30, 2024
Years of Service: 24

Laura Jackson, President
Term: July 1, 2018-June 30, 2023
Years of Service: 15

Christine Cornwell
Term: July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2026

Years of Service: 7

Sofia Issa

Term:  May 22, 2019 – June 30, 2025

Years of Service: 5

Brandi Kerber

Term: July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2027


Public Input

In the interest of openness and community participation, a public comment period shall be provided at each business meeting, designated as “Privilege of the Floor.” When members of the public speak to the Board, they will state their name and address, the name of the organization (if any) which they represent, and the subject they wish to comment on. In order to conduct the Board’s business in an orderly and efficient manner, public participation will be limited to a reasonable, brief period of time. If a matter being discussed by a speaker is especially complex or lengthy, the Board may request that the matter be put in writing or may schedule a public hearing or special meeting on the issue. When circumstances warrant, the Board President may extend the speakers’ time to present their concerns. The board prohibits discussion on matters related to staff and students, at which their reputation, privacy or rights to due process or those of others could in some way be violated.