Sharon Springs Central School Minutes of the Alumni Banquet Business Meeting June 14, 2025

The Alumni Association of the Sharon Springs Central School held their annual reunion of classes and banquet on Saturday, June 14, 2025 in the Coach Doig Gym with approximately 76 people present, including 55 alumni, retired and former teacher Karen Brueck, two members of the Class of 2025, with Randy Korona and Chris Smith, advisors.

Prior to the banquet a social hour was held. Light refreshments were served in the Al Doig gym. At six o'clock alumni and guests were called to be seated for dinner.

Following the invocation given by Joan Baxter, President John Acello '68 directed us in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag. <u>God Bless America</u> was sung by all, accompanied by Isabella Warner and Max Horning of the SSCS music department.

President Acello welcomed everyone attending with hopes to enjoy this special evening renewing and preserving ties with old friends and classmates. He noted that this is a 94-year tradition and hopes that it will continue.

A delicious pasta dinner which included lasagna with meat sauce, meatballs, meatless ziti, salad, garlic bread and brownie sundaes. The dinner was served by Class of 2027 under the direction of Advisors Christine Lyon and Dennis Strk, assisted by student's parents. Melissa Simpson, Cafeteria Manager was kitchen supervisor. Students from the Class of 2027 came into the gym for recognition. Baskets were passed for tips.

After dinner, President Acello opened the event with a **Special Presentation**:

The Alumni Association had a picture of Coach Doig framed. A large 20" x 30" portrait of Coach wearing his signature white polo shirt was unveiled this evening. Harrie Washburn, Jr, who was a neighbor of the Doig's gave a wonderful presentation. Coach's son, Jim Doig, '71 was present. The portrait will be hung on the north wall of the gym with two other items of memorabilia.

President Acello opened the Business Meeting at 7:07pm.

Dave Cross '63, moved, Joe Knee '75 seconded to approve and dispense reading of the 2024 annual meeting minutes. Approved.

Treasurer's Report was given by Treasurer Jane Ritrovato Becker '71. Please see attached. Approved. 210 Alumni paid dues. Over 1000 letters were mailed.

Election of Officers:

President Acello reported that Robert Comins, voted VP at the 2024 banquet has been unable to fulfill his duties due to health reasons. Harrie Washburn, Jr. '74 had stepped in to fill that role, however, beginning year 2026, we need a Vice President.

Trish Larkin Bailey, class of 2000 nominated Ernie Parsons, class of 2000. He accepted the nomination.

Slate of Officers:

President:

Vice President:

Secretary:

Assistant Secretary:

Treasurer:

John Acello '68

Ernest Parsons '2000

Joyce Slater '71

Mary Vernik Cary '71

Jane Ritrovato Becker '71

Assistant Treasurer: Pauline Grant Brown '51

Member at Large: Rebecca Cross Zarski '93
Member at Large/Data Administrator: Margaret McFee Acello '68

President Acello moved to accept the slate of officers with Ernie Parsons as VP. Unanimously approved.

President Acello invited brief messages from members of the anniversary classes.

Paul Tichy spoke for the Class of 1975, celebrating their 50th year as alumnus. He recalled it being a "hell of a ride." He praised Helen Lane, English teacher and Karen Sturm Bruek, Math teacher, for "preparing you for life."

James Herman spoke for the class of 1965, celebrating their 60th year as alumnus. He noted that Mr. "D" (DeLuca) had the cost of pencils (5 cents) and notebooks (10 cents). He recalled Mrs. Schondra, school secretary and the smell of mimeograph paper in her office. He fondly recalled the school dances and donkey basketball games, right here in the Doig gym.

President Acello welcomed the class of 2025 into the Alumni Association. The class was introduced by Advisor Chris Smith, who has been coach and PE for 22 years. He noted that there are 10 seniors graduating. Commencement will be held June 27 at 6pm. He introduced Taylor Olsen who introduced the attending members of the Class of 2024 and gave a synopsis of what each senior's immediate plans were after graduation.

President Acello then announced the winner of the Alumni Scholarship Award of \$500. This award will be presented to **Zoe Hanley** at graduation.

President Acello closed the business meeting at 7:29pm.

Roll Call: Completed by Joyce Slater, Secretary

18 Alumni present from a graduating class of 60 or more years.

Joan Baxter gave the Benediction.

The Alma Mater was sung by all, led by Isabella Warner and Max Horning.

The crowd left to socialize with friends, family and classmates. All were invited to the Fancy Farmer restaurant. Congratulations to all!

Respectfully Submitted,

Joyce Marie Slater, '71

Secretary